14
Jun
10

My Child Abuses My Pet, So I’ll Punish the Pet


Ad Text:

I purchased a male Snow Bengal cat in October last year. He is a mix of Asian leopard cat and domestic house cat. He was 1k and I absolutely adore him. He is now a year old but has not yet been neutered because I live in a high rise downtown and he has never been outdoors. Unfortunately my five year old son has become insanely jealous of our pet and has begun to mistreat him. I would love to keep him but I cannot be selfish. He needs a new home where there are no children. I have all of his paperwork. He was born in South Dakota and I bought him from a pet store in Flatirons. He is really cute. He has blue eyes, and ivory fur with spots, resembling a snow leopard. I have a new cat tree, a bed, 2 litter boxes, a bunch of toys, a scratcher and a leash. Bengals can be leash trained and like water. My kitty prefers to drink from a fountain, or the faucet so I will provide a fountain as well. Hopefully I will find him a new home soon! Humaine Society wouldn’t help because he is an exotic cat, so I have to place him myself. There is no rehoming fee. I just want to find him a great, permanent home. He deserves it.

How do you suck? Let me count the ways.

1. You bought a cat from a pet store.
2. You are unable to prevent your five-year-old son from mistreating your cat. Hint: Five-year-olds are small enough to pick up and put in time out.
3. You think it would be “selfish” to honor your commitment to your pet and parent your child in a way that would prevent further conflict. Apparently it’s unselfish to dump your cat on someone else.
4. You think it’s unnecessary to neuter indoor cats. Because he couldn’t possibly get out, right? That only happens to other people who are less special than you.

Here’s a dose of reality for parents whose children don’t behave well around animals: It’s the child’s problem, and as the parent, you’re more than likely the cause. Get some parenting classes and an animal behaviorist to help the kid learn how to respect a pet’s body language. If a pet is being aggressive toward a child without provocation, that’s a problem possibly bad enough to consider rehoming or euthanizing the pet if behavior modification isn’t a realistic option. But a child being aggressive toward a pet isn’t grounds to dump the pet. It’s a wake up call for the parents to step things up and set serious consequences for mistreating the pet.

So, congratulations, Bengal owner. Your unneutered, free to good home Bengal will be snapped up by a backyard kitty breeder and his poorly bred kittens will be sold, probably on Craigslist, to any home willing to take them. Once he’s too old to breed, he’ll be dumped again with some fake sob story–by that point he’ll have numerous health and behavior problems thanks to the conditions present in kitty mills. Meanwhile, your child will have learned at a tender age that if he wants another living creature to disappear, all he has to do is bully it. Good luck if you ever decide to have a second child and your first kid is jealous of his new sibling!

1 Response to “My Child Abuses My Pet, So I’ll Punish the Pet”


  1. 1 Kahla
    January 15, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    That poor cat. I hope he had a more positve fate then being a mill cat.


Leave a Reply

