17
Jun
10

Oh, honey, that’s really not how you save a life.


Ad Text:

I lost my best friend Cleo she drowned in our pool and was an amazing swimmer,,,,I needed to do something to help my pain so I went to the Animal Control and saved a life……This little guy is a Lasa mix and full of love he would do best being the only poochie…..This doggie has so much Love and I would love to keep him but I must go through the process of the pain that goes with loosing my bff…Luckily I went because this lttle guy was going to die if I didn’t save him……I am a groomer so he is an absolute handsome boy. Also you will get grooms for the rest of his life for free….I paid 85.00 to get him out and thats all I am asking for the re-homing fee, I have a boutique so you will be able to pick a collar and leash and a little t-shirt……If you would like pic’s please txt me or call for more info 480-[redacted] Plus why not save a life…….I tried but the pain is to hard and liek I said I must grieve……

The road to this blog is so often paved with good intentions. I can’t bring myself to really rip on this person just because her dog, an “amazing swimmer,” swam so amazingly that she drowned (presumably unsupervised) in the owner’s pool. There are scenarios in which this could have been a tragic accident rather than a fatality due to the owner being a complete idiot. Sure, it’s unlikely, but it’s possible.

What I will rip on her for is her reaction to this loss. Everyone grieves differently, but if your method of grieving happens to be adopting another dog the same day and then immediately starting to look for a new home for it, you need to go soak your head–preferably in a pool that’s just been given a safety overhaul including a dog-proof fence and a cover. People lose dogs due to carelessness and accidents all the time. A dog slips a leash and runs into traffic. An owner didn’t know there were coyotes in the area she just moved to, and left a small dog outside alone just long enough.

What separates good owners from bad is their reaction to such a tragedy. A good owner doesn’t bring another dog into the family without making serious changes to their ownership practices in order to prevent a second loss. Nor would a good owner adopt a dog just to try to rehome it on Craigslist. If you want to foster a pet, there are plenty of shelters that offer foster programs.

She’s trying, and she seems to have her heart in the right place, but her head… well, it’s not in such good shape.

3 Responses to “Oh, honey, that’s really not how you save a life.”


  1. 1 Lyn
    June 17, 2010 at 8:36 am

    I agree. Her heart’s in the right place. But that is totally not the way to go about things.

    • June 17, 2010 at 10:37 am

      So common, too, unfortunately. Lots of dogs end up homeless because they were adopted or bought to replace a deceased dog, then the owner realized they weren’t really ready for another.

  2. 3 Lyn
    June 18, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    I’ll never understand the logic behind doing that. Just like a person you lose, you cannot replace a pet with another one. That’s like replacing a family member when they pass on – impossible.


Leave a Reply

