19
Jun
10

Poe’s Law meets Craigslist idiots.


Ad Text:

Hi all!!

I have some really cool puppies for sale for $50.00. The mother is crossed with a Pit Bull and Siberian Husky and the father is part Whippet and part Red Bone Hound. We were so happy when we bred these parents, the puppies are so cute, maybe we have a new breed, lol!

Email me for pics and times to come by to see them, they won’t be ready for a few weeks so hurry, hurry hurry and place a deposit

Is it some witty troll satirizing the worst of the worst BYBs on Craigslist? Or is it actually someone dumb enough to intentionally breed such mixed-up mutts and brag about it? Should I be laughing or facepalming right now? I’m so confused.

If these are real puppies, the temperament and physical characteristics in the litter are probably so diverse that you’d do better writing dogs’ personality traits on a dartboard and tossing darts at it than trying to predict anything based on their breeding. They’ll want to pull a sled into the woods to tree a coon while trembling on your lap and protecting your home.

9 Responses to “Poe’s Law meets Craigslist idiots.”


  1. 1 Lyn
    June 19, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    That’s a lot of mixing going on. These puppies may be cure but each could end up very different and possibly confused.

    • June 19, 2010 at 2:24 pm

      Even with just mixes of two breeds you never really know what you’re going to get, hence why so many “doodles” end up in shelters after they turn out not to be hypoallergenic/non-shedding/non-barking after all. With this many? I bet they won’t even look like they’re from the same litter when they grow up.

      • 3 Lyn
        June 19, 2010 at 2:30 pm

        I agree. I can sort of (not really if you’re watching your pet well) understand if mutts happen by accident. But breeding them that way on purpose is definitely not cool. Yes, they might turn out OK and even cute – but of course, they also might not.

  2. 4 Lyn
    June 19, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    LOL I meant to say ‘cute’ not cure.

  3. 5 cut-n-jump
    June 24, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    My dog is a mixed up mutt, mom was a collie-shepard cross, dad was the neighbors American Bulldog that jumped the fence. The puppies were being sold to pay to spay mom and I had mine spayed before her first heat cycle. My Abby has been a good dog all these years, through good care and training. She’s in it for the long haul with me and is 13 this year.

    But not all breeds cross well and who out of their mind would consider rumaging through this mixture to produce anything? Do the dogs a favor, spay and neuter them all- including the humans in this group.

    • June 25, 2010 at 11:44 am

      Oh, I wish. If I’m ever named Dictator of the World for Life that’s going in my first set of new laws–“If you intentionally breed totally bizarre mutts and try to sell them as ‘designer dogs’ or a ‘new breed,’ you AND your dogs will be spayed or neutered!”

      Your dog reminds me of my favorite classified ad ever–seen in the Rocky Mountain News (now defunct) years ago: “Puppies for sale cheap. Half Golden Retriever, champion lines. Half sneaky fence-jumping neighbor dog.”

  4. 7 Crusader
    June 26, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    I think people should just stop breeding dog all together. In my experience, dogs are used for fighting and for baiting. My organization stiffles any and all dog fighting rings. My business has been called to Phoenix to erradicate dog fighters and illegal aliens.

  5. 8 Joe Walsh
    June 28, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Don’t listen to the “crusader”. She is nothing more than an attention seeking, pee stinky old sea hag who has been terrorizing Craig’s List for over a year. She has made up characters like Captain America and has continually presented readers with weird and difficult situations. She has contacted people at their homes and cursed them out-she is not to be trusted.

    I’m signing anonymously because I don’t want her to start a harassment campaign against me again but she is not to be trusted!


Leave a Reply

