22
Jun
10

Honesty is the best policy, and this guy’s honestly horrible.


Ad Text:

I need to give away these pups. Ive been trying to sell them using craigslist, but no one wants to pay the price Im asking. I am a breeder, but I dont want to pay to buy and ad to sell them. They are getting to old, no one is gonna want to pay the high price I am asking anymore. So I am either giving them away free or taking them to the pound (wjere I will have to pay a fee to turn them in) so they can be adopted out for 50 bucks, which ensures shots, registration, and fix. 623-[redacted]

Wait, what am I supposed to snark about here? What can I say about this person that makes them look any worse than they’re admitting to being? I’ll give it the old college try, but I’m not sure it’s possible to mock someone who’s this frank about being a worthless, BYB jackass who is busy filling shelters’ euthanasia lists with more unwanted Pit Bulls.

What if this person’s Pit bitch had required a c-section or other emergency care? That would cost a little more than an ad in the paper–which, of course, is just another BYB tactic. Responsible breeders don’t need to advertise; they have a house or kennel full of walking advertisements, which they display at shows and/or performance events. Maybe they buy an ad in a breed-specific newsletter or on a show’s class list, but the newspaper classifieds are BYBs all the way down. But back to the pet who produced these puppies: Of course, he’d just have let her die. And he’d probably have posted any surviving puppies on Craigslist with some blab about “dog died giving birth, don’t have time to bottle feed, anyone want them?” and they’d get fed to some sicko’s Boa Constrictor.

It’s amazing to me how people can go through life so completely immune to the idea that, just maybe, they did something stupid. I’m a forgiving person. I wouldn’t have posted this person here if the ad had said “I was stupid enough to think I could make easy money breeding dogs; now I’m stuck with a bunch of puppies that I realize nobody wants. If you can give one of them a good home I’d be eternally grateful. The mother has been spayed.” A mistake that could cost dogs’ lives is a big mistake, but it’s still forgivable if the person who makes it truly understands what they’ve done wrong.

But this guy/gal? Nope. I bet they’ll have another litter within the season.

Poor pups:

2 Responses to “Honesty is the best policy, and this guy’s honestly horrible.”


  1. 1 cut-n-jump
    June 24, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Ranks right up there with those people on the street corners trying to sell their puppies. If they were so great and the parents so great- you would have them sold before they were even produced. Take deposits and then breed for the puppies. And yes, do something with the parents.

    • June 25, 2010 at 11:42 am

      Those street corner puppy sellers with a cardboard box of pups in the back of a truck make me want to scream and throw tomatoes. I can’t stand them! My cat was rescued from being abandoned in a box in a parking lot, no doubt after the kittens were unable to be sold because they were obviously seriously ill, one with two ruptured corneas. She’s the best cat in the world now, but lost an eye and has permanent damage to her digestive system and immune system.


Leave a Reply

